A BB gun is a type of airgun that is used to shoot metallic balls. It can also be called a pellet gun. The operating mechanism is the same as air and the mechanic guns. However, they have a shorter range. Shooting someone with a BB gun can increase the risk of a serious injury.
Now, concerning BB gun laws in California, many people have doubts as to whether it is legal to carry a BB gun in California or if you can’t carry one. If this is the case then what are the conditions of that? All of this information given below should be read carefully so you can know the laws.
Is it legal in California?
As per the BB gun laws in California, you can carry a BB gun with you as long as you are not a minor and are at least 18 years old. All of these people are allowed to carry a BB gun with them in California.
For the people who are below 18 years of age, you can not carry a BB gun unless you have parental permission. Also, you can’t sell any of the BB guns to the person who is below 18 years of age and they don’t have any of the parental permission with them.
By this, you can know that it is legal to carry a non-powdered gun with you in California. However there are certain rules that you will need to keep in mind when you are carrying a BB gun with you,
You can’t display a BB gun in public even if you have it and even if you are above 18 years old. If you are thinking about why you can’t do so then it is because this might show the imitation firearms. This will be against the Penal Code 12550(a) as well as Penal Code 12556.
It says that you can’t display imitation firearms in any of the public places including the streets, front yards, as well as the building or the commercial property that are open to all the public. This also applies to all the schools, government buildings, and other similar places.
Also, you can carry the BB gun when you are in a car. However, you should not use it to transport, ship, distribute, receive, purchase, or even sell the BB gun. All of these things will be included in the crime and you will be punishable under the law.
Shooting someone is totally against the law of California and you should not use to shoot it. Even if you do and the shot is missed, you will still break the law and face the penalties. This will be included in the assault and can be considered battery which is totally against the law of California. So, you should take a serious note when you are in public or using a BB gun. Make sure you follow all the laws.